Newell Hall Newell Hall:  Florida Experiment Station


Built as the Florida Experiment Station in 1910, Newell Hall represented the close link between the academic mission of the land-grant university and practical agricultural services to the growers and farmers of the state. Experimental fields were laid out on adjacent grounds and students got hands-on research experience. A restoration of Newell Hall was completed in 1944, the only major campus construction project completed during the Second World War.

Character Defining Features


  • SCALE camera
  •           3-1/2 stories

  • MASSING camera
  •           Rectangular

  • ROOF camera
  •           Gable

              Crenellated parapet

              Upper floor added in 1944

  • ENTRANCES camera
  •           Under gable end

  •           Double hung 3 over 3 light vertical panes

              Single and paired groupings

  • MATERIALS camera
  •           Brick is Common Bond

              6th course in Flemish headers

              Light red clay tiles on roof

  •           Cast stone

              Water table, steeply pitched angled section

              Wrought iron grill work

  •           Edge of district facing roadway

              42' to cornice line, similar to other early buildings


    Newell Hall


    Architect:  William Augustus Edwards with a 1944 renovation by Rudloph Weaver

    Contractor:  J. J. Cain Company of Atlanta

    Building Name:  Originally the Agricultural Experiment Station,it was renamed for noted entomologist Dr. Wilmon E. Newell, a director of the station and provost for Agriculture


    Primary Navigation

    << UF Historic Campus Home


    University of Florida
    Preservation Document Links







    University of Florida
    Historic Preservation Links







    State and National Preservation Links